Sainte Croix du Mont 

Wines, châteaux and description of Sainte Croix du Mont. Click on the château name to go to their website.

Sainte Croix du Mont 


Château Angélus

Premier Grand Cru Classe A


Château l'Archange


Château Armens


Château L'Arrosée


Château Ausone

Premier Grand Cru Classe A



Clos Badon Thunevin

Château Balestard La Tonelle


Château Barde Haut


Château Beau Séjour Bécot

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Beauséjour Duffau Lagarrosse

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Bélair Monange

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Bellefont Belcier


Château Bellevue


Château Bellevue Mondotte


Château Bergat


Château Berliquet


Château Boutisse



Château Cadet Bon


Château Piola


Château de Candale


Château Canon

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Canon La Gaffelière

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Cantin


Château Cap de Mourlin


Château Carteau Côtes Daugay


Château Le Castelot


Château Le Chatelet


Château Chauvin


Château Cheval Blanc

Premier Grand Cru Classe A


Château La Clotte


Château La Commanderie


Château La Confession


Cave Coopérative:

Union des Producteurs de St-Emilion


Château Corbin


Château Corbin Michotte


Château Côte de Baleau


Château La Couspaude


Château Coutet


Couvent des Jacobins

Clos de la Cure



Château Dassault


Château Daugay


Château Destieux


Le Dôme


Château La Dominique

Clos Dubreuil



Château Faugères


Château Faurie de Souchard


Château de Ferrand


Château Figeac

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château La Fleur


Château Fleur Cardinale


Château La Fleur Morange


Château Fombrauge


Château de Fonbel


Château Fonplégade


Château Fonroque

Clos Fourtet

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Franc Mayne



Château La Gaffelière

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château La Gomerie


Château la Grâce Dieu Les Menuts


Château Gracia


Château Grand Barrail Lamarzelle Figeac


Château Grand Corbin


Château Grand Corbin Despagne


Château Grand Corbin Manuel


Château Grand Faurie La Rose


Château Grand-Mayne


Château Grand Pontet


Château Les Grands Murailles


Château Guadet



Château Haut-Brisson


Château Haut La Grace Dieu


Château Haut Rocher


Château Haut Sarpe


Château Haut Troquart La Grâce Dieu



Château L'If



Clos des Jacobins

Château Jean Faure



Château Laforge


Château Laniote


Château Larcis Ducasse

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Larmande


Château Laroque


Château Laroze


Château Lassiègue


Château Louvie



Clos la Madeleine

Château Magdelaine


Château Mangot


Château La Marzelle


Château Matras


Château Milon


Château Monbousquet


La Mondotte

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Montlabert


Château Moulin du Cadet


Château Moulin St Georges


Clos de l'Oratoire



Château Pas de l'Ane


Château Patris


Château Pavie

Premier Grand Cru Classe A


Château Pavie Decesse


Château Pavie Macquin

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Péby Faugères


Château Petit Faurie De Soutard


Château Petit Gravet Aîné

Château Pierre 1er (formerly Château Croix Figeac)


Château Pindefleurs


Château Pipeau


Château Pontet Fumet


Château de Pressac


Château Le Prieuré



Château Quinault L'Enclos


Château Quintus



Château La Révérence


Château Ripeau


Château Rochebelle


Château Rocheyron


Château Rol Valentin


Château Rolland Maillet

Château Roylland


Château Rozier



Château St Georges Côte Pavie

Clos St Julien

Clos St Martin


Château Sansonnet


Château La Serre


Château Soutard



Château Tertre Daugay


Château Tertre Rôteboeuf


Château Teyssier


Château La Tour Figeac


Château La Tour du Pin


Château La Tour du Pin Figeac (Giraud Bélivier)


Château Tour St Christophe


Château Trianon


Château Troplong Mondot

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Trottevieille

Premier Grand Cru Classe B



Château du Val d'Or


Château de Valandraud

Premier Grand Cru Classe B


Château Vieux Fortin


Château Villemaurine



Château Yon Figeac

Saint Émilion is on the Right bank of the Dordogne river, 35 km northeast of Bordeaux, in an area called the  Libournais, with Libourne being the Capital. The village itself is medieval UNESCO World Heritage Site, and retains much ancient and renovated architecture, full of steep and narrow streets. It has a population of about 2000, a decline from 3500 in the 1960's and correlates with the relentless tourism. The loss of tax revenue has caused the village to sell off numerous properties.


The first vines were planted here by the Romans during the 2nd century under Decimus Magnus Ausonius, the root of Château Ausone. The village was originally called Ascumbas, but was renamed in the 8th century when a famous Breton called Émilion, or Aemilianus, settled in one of the nearby caves and made carvings. The clifftop church is built around his cell.

The main grape varieties are Merlot and Cabernet Franc, with a little Cabernet Sauvignon and a tiny amount of Malbec in some places. Locally Malbec is called Noir de Pressac and Cabernet Franc is called Bouchet. Vine density is about 5500 per hectare, and this has declined over time as the wine has become more prestigious. In the 1970's there was a big push to plant more Cabernet Sauvignon, due to the worry that Merlot was prone to rot. This was somewhat of a disaster though, as the Cabernet Sauvignon often failed to ripen in time.

On average the region produces about 32 million bottles of wine a year. There is an average rainfall of 800 mm a year, though this varies from 450 to 1200 mm. The plateau regions are mostly loam and clay soils on a limestone base, whereas the western areas can be quite gravelly and some northen patches are silt and sand. 

Every September the region celebrates the 'nuit du patrimoine', or 'heritage night', where members of the winemaking guild, called the Jurade, parade in their red caps and robes decorated with white ermine. A senior Jurat then ascends the village tower with a trumpeter and declares the “Ban des Vendanges”, or the date the harvest can begin. This is followed by an evening of fireworks. This rather antiquated organisation dates from 1199 and the charter of Falaise, created by King John of England granting regional power to the Jurade, and was revamped in 1948.

Saint Émilion was left out of the Bordeaux wine classification of 1855, and so in 1955 it produced its own unique classification system, which is updated more more regularly (1996, 2006, 2012). It divides into Grand Cru Classe and the higher level Premier Grand Cru Classe. This higher category then divides into A and B. There are only 4 château listed as A, listed in pink, and B is listed in blue.




Unlike the Bordeaux system, châteaux in the Saint Émilion system are often demoted if they fail to sustain wines fit for the rank. However, after 2006 this led to endless litigation in the courts by bitter châteaux owners and temporary suspension of the system. More demoted châteaux tried to derail the 2012 classification but failed.  It has been argued that the system rewards only a certain style of wine, and I think this may be true. For a brutally interesting article on this topic click here.

In 1884 Saint Émilion was the first wine region in France to create a Syndicat Viticole, which is like a union of wine makers.